{March Book} On Writing

A few days late here, however, I have been successful thus far with my resolution to read a new book a month this year.  In March I read Stephen King’s On Writing.  Now, don’t be fooled: I have never read any of Stephen King’s books and only watched a handful of movies.  Even so this has quickly become one of my favorite books (and one of the rare few that as soon as I finish I have a desire to start rereading immediately).

The book has two parts and I’d encourage any one who likes good stories about people or has an interest in Stephen King to read the first part.  It’s his recollections on moments that influenced and shaped his writing.  It also shows the ‘behind the scenes’ of his big break with Carrie.

The second part goes into the technical side of writing (so read at your own will).  Favorite quote of the book: “So I read where I can, but I have a favorite place and probably you do, too – a place where the light is good and the vibe is usually strong.  For me it’s the blue chair in my study.  For you it might be the couch on the sunporch, the rocker in the kitchen, or maybe it’s propped up in bed – reading in bed can be heaven, assuming you can get just the right amount of light on the page and aren’t prone to spilling your coffee or cognac on the sheets.”

Most appreciated by a bed reader myself.  During March I also read (and fell in love with) To Kill A Mocking Bird.  Stay tuned for April’s read and happy reading yourself! Do share any new finds by comment below!

Leave a Reply

