{make!} peppered sage pork with pasta

pepperedpork

This past week John & I celebrated two years of dating…last year we went out to the Frog to celebrate and this year we decided to stay in.  We’ve received a couple different “Newlywed” Cookbooks as gifts and we’ve been having fun trying out those recipes… without further adieu Peppered Sage Pork with Pasta 

Ingredients:
– 2 sun dried peppers
– 1 lb pork tenderloin, sliced diagonally into 8 pieces
– 8 fresh sage leaves + 1 TBSP chopped fresh sage leaves
– 8oz pasta of your choice
– 1 TBSP butter
– 1/2 TBSP olive oil
– 1/4 cup dry sherry
– 3/4 cup heavy cream
– 1/2 cup chicken broth
sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste
serves 4

1.  Soak the sun-dried peppers in boiling water according to the instructions on the package.  Drain & cut into about 2-inch pieces.

2. Using the palm of your hand, gently flatten out the pieces of pork into round, medallion shapes.  Using a small, sharp knife, make 2 cuts through the center of each medallion.  Thread a piece of sliced pepper through 1 cut and a sage leaf through the other on each medallion.  Sprinkle with black pepper.

3. Cook the pasta in a saucepan of boiling, salted water until al dante, or according to the package instructions.

4. Meanwhile, heat the butter and oil in a nonstick skillet until foaming.  Add the pork medallions and sauté over medium heat for 4 to 5 minutes on each side until golden and cooked through.  Transfer to a warm plate, cover with foil, and set aside.

5. Pour the sherry into the hot skillet and boil for 30 seconds.  Stir in the cream, broth, and sage.  Bring to a boil again, reduce the heat, and simmer for 3 to 4 minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

6. Drain the pasta, return it to the warm saucepan, and toss with half of the cream sauce.  Divide between 4 serving plates.  Top each serving with two pieces of pork and pour over the remaining sauce.  Serve immediately.

Personal Suggestions: I used sweet cherry peppers instead of sun-dried because I couldn’t find them at the grocery store I went to (day of making the recipe).  The next time we make this I would chop up more sweet cherry peppers and sage and sauté it before starting, and then I would actually add that to the pasta generously so that the flavor from the pork carried over to the pasta more.  I had trouble getting the sauce to thicken a bit so I’d also experiment next time making it more of a roux or using a canned alfredo sauce or some other white sauce.

For my bridal shower I also received a very special cookbook that was passed around to my extended family so that everyone could put recipes in it.  All the other pages are left blank for me.  My plan is to continue trying and testing my way through other cookbooks until either a) a recipe is absolutely fabulous on its own or b) I’ve tweaked the recipe enough for it to become a favorite.  At that time I’ll enter into what I’m calling my family’s “best of the best” cookbook.  I love traditions and passing things on!

Leave a Reply

