{May Book} A Walk Across America

weekendrecapThis month I was hooked on A Walk Across America by Peter Jenkins.  A couple weeks ago we spent the weekend in Fargo to take care of a bunch of wedding things.  I found this book as I perused my mother-in-law’s (vast) book shelves.  I read about 3/4ths of the book that weekend in between all our meetings and finished the rest of it this week.  I have been waiting for just the right book to come alone after April’s book gripped me.

In A Walk Across America Peter Jenkins details how his general dislike of America (and a lot of the Americans he knew) led him to walking across the country in search of the real America.  The book is basically his journal of all the places he went as well as all the people he met and fell in love with.

The book was the perfect read for me at this time as I finish preparing and packing for an extended weekend camping and hiking in Minnesota with my future sister-in-law.  We have become great friends since I started dating her brother and this year is our first annual trip to begin hiking the North Superior Trail.  We plan to hike sections every year, picking up where we left off the year before.

Favorite quote from the book: “This shakedown cruise would be our fasted walking during the whole trip, but I was opposed to becoming ‘mileage-crazy.’  Mileage craziness is a serious condition that exists in many forms.  It can hit unsuspecting travelers while driving cars, motorcycles, riding in planes, crossing the country on bicycles or on foot.  The symptoms may lead to obsessively placing more importance on how many miles are traveled than on the real reason for traveling.  This obsession is especially bad for those who are trying to see the U.S.A. without their chevrolet.  On foot, in a van, on a fleet motorcycle or on a bicycle, a person must be very careful not to become overly concerned with arriving.”

Leave a Reply

