heart thoughts {the 5 most important things}

j + rue

I regularly follow blogs, and have for years, and often get sucked into the ‘black hole’ of the internet. Whether it’s pinterest, money blogs, lifestyle blogs, or current events – I can usually find a way to spend hours online. Many times I turn to the internet for inspiration and every once in a while there is something I find that just sticks. Many years ago I came upon a blog post with a video (which, of course, I cannot find now – lost in the black hole somewhere!). This video has stuck with me over the years.

The video challenged viewers to make a list of the 5 most important things in their lives. We spend so much of our time busy – busy schedules, busy at work, busy family lives. We get torn in multiple directions and asked to share our energy and time over and over. None of this is bad in the least, but the man who made the video claimed that when we invest or focus on doing 5 things really well, all other things would fall into their proper place.

Since I watched that video, I’ve made lists of the 5 most important things in my life. As I’ve gone through job changes, said goodbye to friends, or had many personal changes going on, making that list of 5 most important things has helped to root me, make decisions, and let go of certain stressors.

Over the years my list has rarely changed (now that I’m married, the hubs has moved up on the list ;), but other than that the list has pretty much stood the same: 1. Faith, 2. Personal Growth, 3. Husband, 4. Family, 5. Dear Friends.   Those are my 5. These are what I want to invest in and these are what I want to make sacrifices for.

door - 4

The part I’ve added to the list making over the years is that as I make my list, behind each item I write out what I need in that regard. This is the part that changes based on where I’m at in life and what I have going on.

Do I need to spend more time meditating to keep my sanity and nerves as I go through this job change? Do I need to reconnect with an old college friend to help beat the humdrum of the everyday? It’s my sister’s birthday this month, how can I make it special for her?

Making the 5 things list has helped me to prioritize naturally and let the hustle and bustle be just that. It’s kind of like the quote from C.S. Lewis: “When first things are put first, second things are not suppressed but increased.”

Your heart thoughts for the day 🙂 What do you do to stay focused and keep priorities?
Happy Half Over Week!

Leave a Reply

