{small things} it doesn’t have to be hard…

Today is daylight savings time and we are ‘falling back.’
Life lately has been a slow fall back into a take it easy pace.  Each year when Spring comes my feet itch and the open road calls and for some reason it feels relaxing to be gone every weekend.  But when Fall and winter arrive, the weather in North Dakota changes and I find myself most content to stay in.  Even my normal pursuit of projects/hobbies wanes into a reading, writing, and home cooking combo.  Things that can be done over a cup of coffee or glass of wine or whiskey.  This Fall we’ve had two ‘run ins’ with bouts of flies.  Most likely from Rue and all her in and out, but they multiple no matter the cleaning or killing we do.  We’re just on the tail end of round two, but the impending freeze should take care of that soon.  This time of year we all seem to be waiting for the freeze to settle.  For the rain to turn to snow.  For the wind to remain cold.
There are multiple times throughout day to day life that I think of my Grandma.  If I’m cooking or doing household thing or finding crafts or looking on pinterest.  And I can hear her saying, “Oh, and it doesn’t have to be hard, Becky.”  I think sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in the complex or think that homemade has to be difficult, or that simple means no shortcuts.  Then I hear my Grandma’s words and it encourages me to embrace simplicity where I’m at in life.
One day I will have a big garden and a pantry to keep summer stock all winter.  For now I embrace that canned tomatoes and dry basil, mixed with garlic and quality oil make really good bruschetta.  That supporting locals can mean tasty homemade bread for us when I don’t have time to make it.  That it’s not worth waiting for all the pieces of the puzzle to start seeing the big picture.  This week’s small things…

IMG_1239

Pioneer Woman’s Buttered Crackers – because who doesn’t love when a recipe both looks and tastes how it’s supposed to!  My only modification was cutting the butter in half.

IMG_1241

25% Off Day Old Bread from the local shop Dakota Harvest.  This is week two that we’ve brought home day old bread and it’s so tasty! Love homemade bread and supporting local.

Working Out Consistently because even just one week of working out consistently feels good.

Finishing A Tree Grows In Brooklyn – My October book was A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and I finished it just at the tail end here!  I set out at the beginning of this year to read a new book each month and with the exception of the crazy wedding month of June, I’ve stuck to this for the most part (or else I’ve read a book in a week plus the new month’s book, haha).  I love curling up with a good book and I think I will pick up some of Betty Smith’s other works to read.  Excellent book and writing if you are looking for a good read!

A Quiet Weekend – On Friday night John looked at me and said, “What am I going to do this weekend?” Which is what he says when we have no plans at all and are staying home.  I love weekends like this: afternoons spent browsing books, catching up on movies, trying new recipes, and moseying around until our bodies catch up.  It’s been a crazy few weeks at work, and this weekend was just what I needed before heading into another week.

Happy Sunday! What were the small things that you needed this week?  I’d love to hear about them!

One Reply to “{small things} it doesn’t have to be hard…”

Leave a Reply

