{travel} Arizona Bound!

travel
photo via http://www.theygetaround.com 

“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”
– Gustave Flaubert

This week J & I embark to Arizona to a) escape the cold tundra, b) relax with my sister and brother in law, c) spend precious time with my grandparents, and d) give us our fix of inexpensive and manageable travel!

J and I both like to travel though working the 8 to 5 makes it difficult. It’s also hard when travel can be very expensive at times. We would rather spend big money on things like wood and tools to satiate our hobbies and building, so whenever we do travel, we make an effort to plan ahead of time, use flyer points where available, and set a (loose) budget.

This trip, however, is one that has been on my mind for quite some time. My grandparents have wintered in Arizona for years and years. When I was in 6th grade I went with my father to see them, but haven’t been back since. A few years ago I realized what a blessing it is to have grandparents so present in my life – both sets of my grandparents are still living. We grew up with them – in the backyard of one set and 5 miles from the next. It wasn’t until I was older that I realized not very many people know or remember their grandparents. That is a life I can’t imagine because of the role they’ve had for me and the impact they’ve made. So, a few years ago, amongst all the lists I’ve ever made ;), “Visit Grandma and Grandpa in AZ” came up.

Finally, a good 3 years later it’s coming to fruition. A shout-out here to putting things on lists even if you think it’s not possible or won’t complete it for quite some time.

“It feels good to be lost in the right direction.” My sister-in-law had a great post last week about using travel and outdoor activities as a way to ‘find oneself’ and the importance of turning within rather than turning to travel to reset. I love it – and it’s a great reminder as we set off Arizona bound. We’ll see you next week, hopefully tanned and with a deeper well of family memories. Stay warm!

-Bec

Leave a Reply

