{not in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow}

normal day

“Normal Day, let me be aware of the treasure you are .
Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart.
Let me not pass you by in quest for some rare and perfect tomorrow.”

I read this quote and immediately wanted to write it out to hang as a reminder to me. The perfect spot seemed to be right on the wall by my bedside. How perfectly it captures the need to embrace today, to live int he present, to know the balance between our dreams and the daily. I find myself always wanting to perfect, to create, and to adventure. It seeps into everything from how I plan future trips to how I approach the day. Β Being driven by a wanderlust for adventure seems to be a fad now and we’re surrounded by perfectly edited and curated photos, passed off on social media as daily life. What does all of this do to us? While many of our human emotions and lifestyles are captured by media, I do still believe there is a real starting point – a reason for it, beneath the edited, perfected, final, JPEG’d version.

The wanderlust for adventure – I have that. A craving for new experiences – check. Awakened by spending four college years 2,000 miles away, I am not a stranger to road trips, continental US travel, my still-best friends all over the country…all of it combined fans the flames of adventure-seeking.

But how is that desire shaped by how our culture communicates? How is that desire changed by the contact input of photos, other people’s adventures, and only seeing the edited version?

I must admit in our media-ized culture, I often respond more to someone else’s photo of a trip than to my true desires. It’s easier to be prompted by peer pressure and comparing your lot to another’s, rather than going through the nitty gritty make a goal, save for it, being in tune with your desires and actually making decisions your actions support.

So what’s all this have to do with embrace the daily anyway, and that quote about normal days? Well, for as much as I love adventures and new experiences, I am finding that I love home and daily life just as well. When you’re not being guided by media outlets or other people’s lifestyles, I think there can be the appreciation for both – each with its own role.

Right now I am counting down the days for J to get back from his 10-day cross country road trip out West. At the beginning of his trip, I wanted to be there, too; see the sights, experience new places and share in the bond that adventures bring. Right now I’m looking forward to having my daily life adventurer back – the guy who comes home, tinkers away at a project or two, keeps himself informed, and who loves his daily routine with me. To all things there is a season and on all days I want to try and embrace the good in each one. Not wishing away my time or making haste through the mundane. To be simple in living, content and grateful in attitude, making the most always, never in search of the rare and perfect tomorrow. Does the rare and perfect day really exist even? All rare and perfect days turn into memories, passing by and therefore tarnishing the perfection. Our lives are formed by the experiences we allow ourselves – whether they come from daily life, new places, or the company and conversations we have. I want this quote to remind me that for every day of ‘formal’ adventure I experience, there’s no doubt I will have 1,000 times the number of ‘normal’ days, where the adventure is found in free will, pursuing the good and beautiful in daily life, and allowing meaning to take root in everyday living.

One Reply to “{not in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow}”

Leave a Reply

