{the long weekend}

july 4.jpg

This past long weekend J and I decided to stay put at home – partially because we were late in the game for booking a tent site where we wanted to go and partially because sometimes a little time to stay at home is really great (especially if you love your home). Our weekend was filled with fishing, hammock sitting, a movie marathon (wherein we did not start any new movies but rather finished all the movies we had started {Inventing the Abbots, The Italian Job, and The ‘Burbs}), grilling out, and relaxation.

On Friday I had decided that I simply must read one whole book during the long weekend. Ever since spring had sprung and now into summer I’ve been having such a hard time getting into any books or finishing any good reads. Little did I know that the book I would consume was in perfect theme for celebrating Independence Day.

The Long Walk by Slavomir Rawicz tells his story of being convicted of espionage while in the Polish Army and unjustly sentenced to 25 years of hard labor in Siberia. The book shares his escape along with 6 others and how they traveled 4,000 miles, on foot, to India – the land of the free, for them. They faced harsh weather conditions, faced unbeatable odds, and Slavomir lived to tell the story. The book was also made into a movie called The Way Back (which made it on to my “list of movies to watch soon”). If you’re looking for a good read, I’d highly recommend it! A great reminder that freedom isn’t “free” and life is worth fighting for.

“What is most important is the deeply felt conviction that freedom is like oxygen, and I hope The Long Walk is a reminder that when lost, freedom is difficult to regain.” – Slavomir Rawicz

2 Replies to “{the long weekend}”

  1. I saw the movie…I don’t know if it followed the book exactly but I was struck by how sad it was that he couldn’t see his wife until decades later because he couldn’t go back inside the Iron Curtain. Plus, escaping through Siberia….crazy!

    1. The book is ALWAYS better than the movie, right!? 😉 It was a very sad book, hard to believe! I couldn’t put it down. Any good summer reads lately??

Leave a Reply

