{Summer of 2016} Life Lately


waiting to go fishing.jpg
It’s been quite some time since I sat down to write a blog post. Part of this is due to the ever-present question to me, “How to use the internet well?” that I seem to turn over from time to time (and at times results in a lack of public posting). The other part is simply from an effort to live in the present and find a way to capture it beyond the use of social / public media forms. While flipping through my journal recently, I found a quote that still resonates with me and challenges me: “You become what you dwell on.” Living intentionally has always been a “goal” of mine, and taking time to reflect on what is occupying my thoughts has helped me find small ways to let go or embrace and hopefully become more of the person I want to be.

Summer of 2016 was a great summer. After completing our bedroom make-over and surprise-ripping out the carpet in the dining room while J was gone on his cross-country road trip, we gave up on projects for a while to enjoy the great outdoors in our short North Dakota season. We had people over for bonfires and yard games; we went camping with in-laws; we started fly fishing; I kayaked more than I did last year (which wasn’t hard!). My sister got married and we welcomed a new brother-in-law to the line-up, whose personality is SO different from my husband and our other sister’s husband, which makes family get togethers so fun. We traveled to the East Coast for a great wedding and new adventures. J turned 30 and I ran a full marathon (ran is not quite the verb to use, perhaps ‘finished’ with a good deal of ‘walking’ in addition to ‘running’). I dreamed up new house projects for us (as if we didn’t have enough) and we bought a few new tools (including a miter saw and a nail gun).

After our week long East Coast trip in mid-August, I felt oddly ready for the summer to end. While I wish Fall was longer here, the summer of 2016 was a great one and I am happy to end it on that note. We took the boat out a few more times, winterized it, have been getting the yard and house ready, and are ourselves almost ready for Old Man Winter.  We will still have a few more weekends of being able to fly-fish, and have already started up on our projects again (the long, arduous process of painting our kitchen cupboards). And who isn’t happy for Pumpkin Spice Lattes, cute boots, and comfy sweaters? The older I get, the more I’m learning that each season of life has something to offer, a lesson to learn, a memory to embrace. As we head through Fall and into Winter, I’m looking forward to see what life has to offer and teach.

last boat trip 2.jpg
Last fishing trip of the year. 

 

 

One Reply to “{Summer of 2016} Life Lately”

  1. Dear Becca,

    This is Stephanie DeVito from Ave Maria 🙂 I am so happy to find your blog! You look beautiful and this post was lovely.

    I Just wanted to leave you a little message for you as for whatever reason, you have been on my heart 🙂 I am thinking of you and praying for you especially today. I would love to hear more from you if you ever have the chance (can you see the email address I put in below? ) but either way I hope you have a great new year.

    All the best!

Leave a Reply

